News Flash

Red Deer County News

Posted on: August 8, 2019

Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework

RDCounty Sylvan ICF

On October 26, 2018 the Province of Alberta approved a number of amendments to the Municipal Government Act including a requirement for all municipalities in the province that share a common boundary to develop and have in place an Intermunicipal Development Plan (IDP) and an Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) by the spring of 2020. Neighbouring municipalities that have an existing IDP will also have to update the plan in order to comply with the new regulations. 

As a result Red Deer County is currently working with all its neighbouring municipalities to develop these documents, where necessary, in accordance with Provincial requirements.

What is an ICF?

Municipalities with a common border are required to create an ICF with each other within two years of the provincial regulations coming into effect. ICFs will address the sharing of services on an intermunicipal basis. The Provincial ICF Regulations outline the requirements with respect to how municipalities deal with among other things: exemptions; duties; alignment of other bylaws; the arbitration process for creating frameworks; the dispute resolution process; and judicial review.

What is an IDP?

The purpose of an IDP is to provide neighbouring municipalities with a high level, comprehensive long range land use plan for lands adjacent to a municipality village, town or city.  IDPs provide joint policy direction for proposals for future development; transportation systems; intermunicipal infrastructure; environmental matters; coordination of intermunicipal programs related to physical, social and economic development; dispute resolution; and procedures to amend the plan.


Red Deer County and neighbouring municipalities have been working diligently to complete the required ICFs and IDPs. So far the County has completed two new IDPs (Delburne and Elnora), six ICFs (Bowden, Delburne, Elnora, Innisfail, Penhold and Sylvan Lake), and reviewed four existing IDPs (Bowden, Innisfail, Penhold and Sylvan Lake).

The County is currently working with the following municipal neighbours to fulfill the Provincial requirement for the IDP and ICF:

  • City of Red Deer;
  • Lacombe County, Five Summer Villages surrounding Sylvan Lake, and the Town of Sylvan Lake;
  • Clearwater County;
  • Kneehill County
  • Mountain View County; and
  • Stettler County

Red Deer County is on track to fulfill these Provincial requirements on time on or before the April 2020 deadline. Stay tuned for any upcoming Open Houses in your area.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Red Deer County News