Safety Codes

Please Note: The Red Deer County office is temporarily closed to the public due to ongoing concerns with the COVID-19 virus. During this time, we limited staff and resources while working remotely. Processing times for permit applications, fee payments and general inquiries may be longer than average.

Permit applications will not be accepted in person, and inspections of occupied buildings will not be accommodated at this time.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation. Please review our current service levels as outlined below.

Adoption of the National Energy Codes (2011)
As of November 1, 2016 Alberta will adopt the “National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2011” (NECB). The application of this code applies to Assembly occupancies, Care and Detention Occupancies, High Hazard Industrial occupancies and other Part 3 buildings defined under the Alberta Building Code. Part 3 buildings are over 600m2 in area and/or more than 3 storeys in height.

Also on November 1, 2016, Section 9.36. of the Alberta Building Code 2014 (ABC) will take effect. This change will affect smaller buildings not under the scope of the NECB. Houses, duplexes and smaller commercial buildings will need to incorporate the requirements of Section 9.36.

The major changes to buildings affect:
  • Building Envelope
  • Lighting
  • HVAC Systems
  • Service Water Heating Systems
  • Electrical Power Systems and Motors

Commercial Building Checklists:

Residential Wall Examples:

Safety Codes